A Message from Rev Rob Williams – March 8 2020

Today we will Commission Elders you elected at our last AGM to serve on our Church Council. They are Valerie Aloa, Annette LeMay, Tim Piper, Thomas Pruszinski, Nirmal Robinson and Christine You. Our continuing Elders on Church Council are Gil Cibich, Chris Lake, Ian Olver, Gaynor Strapp and Anne Wierenga. Church Council Officers for 2020 are Chair – Ian Olver, Deputy Chair – Nirmal Robinson, Secretary – Anne Wierenga and Treasurer – Tim Piper. Their ministry is vital to the spiritual life and well-being of our congregationas you can see from the following paragraphs: 

The ministry of Elder is one of spiritual oversight and may also be exercised in pastoral visitation, teaching, encouraging members of the congregation to share in mission, and assisting the minister in leadership of worship and administration of the sacraments.

Elders who serve on the Church Council have a particular responsibility to ensure that such matters have priority in the work of the church council.

The Church Council shall give priority in its life to building up the congregation in faith and love, sustaining members in hope, and leading the congregation to a fuller participation in Christ’s mission in the world.

The act of Commissioning includes several questions to the congregation:

Will you, the members of this congregation, accept these brothers and sisters as elders serving on the Church Council?

Will you encourage them in love and support them in their ministry, serving with them the one Lord Jesus Christ?

Your positive, practical response to these questions not only supports those serving on our Church Council. It also strengthens our sense of community as together we serve our Lord and his Church using the gifts he has given each one of us. It greatly assists our mission together in Raising Children of God.

Comments are closed.